Principal Investigator

Kent Griffith
Kent Griffith

B.S. Chemistry, Indiana University
Ph.D. Chemistry, University of Cambridge

k3griffith@ucsd.edu

Postdoctoral Researchers

Kevin Anderton
Kevin Anderton

PhD Chemistry, Harvard University
BS Chemistry, University of Florida

Joined the lab May 2024

kanderton@ucsd.edu

Synthesis and characterization of layered oxide cathode materials for lithium-ion batteries

Graduate Students

Ethan Alter
Ethan Alter

B.Asc. Nanotechnology Engineering, University of Waterloo
M.S. Chemistry, Dalhousie University

Joined the lab January 2024

ealter@ucsd.edu

Battery cell development, degradation, analysis, characterization

Sarah Ko
Sarah Ko

B.S. Chemistry, UC Los Angeles

Joined the lab August 2023

sako@ucsd.edu

Exploring reaction pathways and structural chemistry of complex oxides and heteroanionic materials

Robert Krumland–Dunning
Robert Krumland–Dunning

B.S. Physics, UC Santa Barbara

Joined the lab July 2024

rkrumlanddunning@ucsd.edu

NMR methodology for battery studies

Steph Meikle
Steph Meikle

B.S. Materials Science & Engineering, University of Florida

Joined the lab July 2024

smeikle@ucsd.edu

Exploratory electrode materials discovery. Complex oxide characterization with solid-state NMR and diffraction.

Elena Sjoblom
Elena Sjoblom

B.S. Chemistry, University of Utah

Joined the lab December 2023

asjoblom@ucsd.edu

Structural studies of layered transition-metal oxides for anodes in lithium- and sodium-ion batteries

Max Varley
Max Varley

B.S. Chemistry, UC San Diego

Joined the lab December 2023

mvarley@ucsd.edu

Solid-state NMR of sodium-ion and sodium solid-state battery materials

Undergraduate Students

Tia Cherabie
Tia Cherabie

B.S. Biochemistry, UC San Diego 

Joined the lab August 2023

tcherabie@ucsd.edu

Learning and assisting in solid-state NMR and X-ray diffraction of battery materials

Ezana Daniel
Ezana Daniel

B.S. Chemical Engineering, UC San Diego

Joined the lab March 2023

edaniel@ucsd.edu

Li-ion battery separator chemistry and solid-state NMR spectroscopy

Caroline Hou
Caroline Hou

B.S. Chemistry, UC San Diego

Joined the lab April 2024

s3hou@ucsd.edu

Synthesis, atomic characterization, and electrochemistry of novel electrode materials for sodium-ion batteries

Ryan Hsiao
Ryan Hsiao

B.S. Chemistry, UC San Diego

Joined the lab June 2023

jchsiao@ucsd.edu

Tellurium-based optical materials and solid-state NMR spectroscopy of non-centrosymmetric crystal structures

Anthony Ta
Anthony Ta

B.S. Chemical Engineering, UC San Diego

Joined the lab February 2024

a3ta@ucsd.edu

Mechanistic studies of electrochemical reactions with isotopically labeled battery materials

Ian Webster
Ian Webster

B.S. Chemical Engineering, UC San Diego

Joined the lab January 2024

iwebster@ucsd.edu

Mineral-inspired electrodes for rechargeable alkali-ion batteries

Tianren Zhang in front of NMR magnet
Tianren Zhang

B.S. Chemical Engineering, UC San Diego

Joined the lab June 2023

tiz015@ucsd.edu

Computational solid-state NMR spectroscopy